Getting Started with Projects and Plans in ALICE Pro

This article explains how to utilize projects and plans. 

  • Projects are how you define what you're working on - you might have a project for your $100M Bridge, or your €250M Wastewater facility.
  • Within each project, you can create several different plans. Plans are variations that allow you to explore different assumptions, variables, or even different 3D model designs. 

In This Article: 

A. Project List Page

A.1 Overview

In Project List,” users can: 

  1. Access Existing Projects
    • List of all projects that you created or have been invited to
    • Can invite colleagues to a specific project(s)
    • Copy and edit project-level data
  2. Access “Trial Projects”: The main purpose of trial projects is for training purposes. After a project is set as a trial project, any changes made can be deleted once the project is reset
  3. + New Project”: Create a New Project
  4. Access Product Updates
  5. Access to “Help”: Search functionality in the ALICE library/knowledge base, raise a feature request, and share your feedback with the ALICE team

Within each project, the following information is available:

  1. The number of Plans
  2. The number of Solutions
  3. The number of Collaborators
  4. Project Start Date
  5. Latest Update Date
  6. Filter project search box
  7. Share: review or edit the list of collaborators
  8. Project Settings:
    • Copy: make a copy of the entire project; please note that schedule solutions (represented as dots on the explore page) do not transfer to copies of projects
    • Properties: can go back and edit project name, description, and project start date
    • Delete: deletes project; this action cannot be undone
      •  

B. Project Plans

  • Click on the Project name to open the “Plans” windowProject_and_Plans__5_.svg

In ALICE, plans can be considered different versions of the project that allows for:

  • Updating the BIM Non-3D (2D) / 3D model 
  • Creating alternative grouping and support strategies
  • Capturing change management for project revisions 
  • See C. Project vs Plan Specific Data for more information on what information is kept consistent and what information can be unique between the different plans within the same projectProject_and_Plans__6_.svg
  1. Open: Open the plan page                                               
  2. Explore Solutions: Open the Explore page
  3. Plan Settings:
    • Copy: Copy the plan
    • Properties: Change the Plan Name and Description
    • Delete: Delete the plan
  4. + New Plan: Create a new plan 

 

B.6 Create New Plan - Update 3D Model

  • Click on “+ New Plan”  to create a new planProject_and_Plans__7_.svg
  1. Plan Name 
  2. Upload Model: (if no 3D model is available, this can be skipped)
  3. Import from plan: This feature transfers the grouping and support strategies from the selected plan to the new one
  4. Project Units
  5. Currency
  6. Default Supports
    • This feature allows ALICE to assign vertical supports automatically. 
    • Turn off this feature to upload the 3D model without any support assignment 
  7. Upload & Create a Plan

C. Project vs Plan Specific Data

When browsing through the list of plans for a specific project, you may notice the message shown below: “Recipes and resources are shared across all plans for this project.”Project_and_Plans__8_.svg

This section will showcase additional details regarding what information is shared and what information is unique across the plans within a project.

B.1 Data Sharing Across Projects

As of now, different projects in ALICE are completely independent and there is no sharing of data that happens automatically between projects.

However, you can still use the recipe import / export feature to transfer resource and recipe information from one project to the other.

 

B.2 Data Sharing Across Plans from the same Project

The table below summarizes what is shared between plans of the same project and what is not.

Note: “No” means that while the data isn’t shared (i.e. changing values in one plan doesn’t automatically change the values in another), you may still use “copy plan” or “import from plan” to transfer data from one plan to another.

 

Category

Data Type

Shared between Plans of Same Project

Resources

Crew/Subcontractor Name

Yes

Default/Base Crew Availability

Yes

Default/Base Crew Cost

Yes

Equipment Name

Yes

Default/Base Equipment Availability

Yes

Default/Base Equipment Cost

Yes

Material Name

Yes

Default/Base Material Availability

Yes

Default/Base Material Cost

Yes

Default/Base Rate Name

Yes

Default/Base Rate Value

Yes

Movable Crane Types

Yes

Movable Crane Positions

No

Milestones

No

Calendars

Yes

Workweeks

Yes

Rest of Plan

Recipes

Yes

Grouping

No

Supports

No

Assignment of Recipes to Elements

No

User Defined Fields (UDFs)

No

Removed Elements

No

Adjacency Paths

No

Explore page data

Scenarios (parameter sets)

No

Parameter values

No

Solution sets

No

 

Further Resources

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful