User Management in ALICE Pro & Core

In this article, you can learn how to invite new users to your ALICE organization, give users the right permissions, and deactivate existing users.

If you are looking for information on how to share projects with users, click here.

 

Invite New Users

To invite new users into your ALICE organization, you must have the admin organizational role. 

1. Navigate to the Admin Panel by clicking your name in the upper right corner of the screen.

2. Select Invite Users, and type the email of each new user you want to invite. You can invite multiple users at a time by hitting the enter key after each email address. 

3. Select the appropriate organizational role for the new users (see the Organizational Roles section below for more information).

4. Click Send Invitation. The user will receive an email with a link to set up their account. Users cannot be added to projects until they complete this step.

Organizational Roles

  1. Restricted
    • Can be invited to projects, but cannot create new projects
    • Cannot access the admin panel
    • Recommended for external consultants or partners who are not employees of your company.
  2. Viewer
    • Can be invited to projects, but cannot create new projects
    • Can view the admin panel, but cannot make changes to it.
    • Recommended for employees who will be using ALICE as part of a project team.
  3. Editor
    • Can be invited to projects and can create new projects
    • Can view the admin panel, but cannot make changes to it.
    • Recommended for employees who are superusers of ALICE.
  4. Admin
    • Can be invited to projects and can create new projects
    • Can invite new users, change user permissions, or deactivate users in the admin panel.
    • Recommended for employees who are responsible for ALICE in your company.

Edit or Deactivate an Existing User

Admins can edit an existing user through the Admin Panel. Click the name of the user you wish to edit and a panel will appear on the right side of your screen. You may edit the name, email address, or organization role of the user. 

Admins can deactivate a user through the Admin Panel. To deactivate a user, use the toggle in the “Active” column, or by clicking on the user and using the panel on the right side of your screen. Deactivated users are no longer able to log in to ALICE. 

Admins can also remove Guests from their organization (See the Guest Users section below for more information) by clicking on the trash icon in the “Active” column. This will remove that Guest from your Organization and their access to all projects within your Organization

Guest Users

A Guest User is a user that already has an ALICE login with another company, and is invited to join your company's ALICE account. The most common use of the Guest User designation is when your ALICE Customer Success representatives join your account to help you with setup, technical questions, training, or professional services work. 

A Guest User may also appear if, for example, you form a joint venture with another company and invite users who already have an active ALICE license. There is no difference in the new user invitation process - simply enter their email address and if our system already has a record in place under their name, they will be added to your account as a guest user.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful